Turkey Winner ウインナー

I think I’ve been improving my cooking skills more than my English skills since I moved to Canada.
カナダに来てから英語力よりも料理の腕の方が上がった気がしますよ

20120904-192850.jpg

I’m kind of crazy about making soufflé. This is a recent cheese soufflé i made. Yum:D

20120904-193208.jpg

I made a smiley face with a turkey wiener and a quail egg. Before I typed it, I thought the spelling of wiener was winner.

20120904-200314.jpg

I made an octopus wiener before.
My mom used to feed me a fish sausage almost every day when I was a kid but I haven’t seen any in a while. I wonder if it’s because I’m in Canada or because fish sausages aren’t as popular as I thought.
子どもの頃、魚肉ソーセージを凄く食べてた記憶があるけれど最近は全然見かけないなぁ
カナダにいるからなのかな?それとも日本でもあんまりメジャーじゃなかったかな?
I’m going to ask my Japanese friend :D
今度、日本人のお友達に聞いてみよーっと“ε(・ω・)з”

20120904-200827.jpg

See ya

Akemi

7 thoughts on “Turkey Winner ウインナー

  1. To be honest I’ve never even heard of a fish sausage before! I suspect you could only find them in some specialty store here in Canada.

    Your cheese souffle looks great!

  2. Akemi: I am Japanese but cannot remember the name I am thinking of. Fish sausage is like kamaboko but is long like sausage and with a hole in the middle? I like the kind with gobo in it.

  3. Heya, in Hawaii, we called it fish cake. There is the one style of kamaboko that is steamed on a piece of wood with either a yellow, or pink outter skin. Sometimes a little sweet, but yummy.

    The one with gobo usually was sold on a skewer with 3 or 4 or 5 “balls” of it.
    When you a fish ball off the skewer, there was a little hole. I think this may have been fried, but not sure.

    There were great with saimin and other soups.
    Now I am craving fish cake.

  4. Oh my, I had no idea there was so many varieties of kamaboko.
    The ones with the color – mainly pink is in my memory too.

    The sausage pictures – many look like “hot dogs”/Weiners.
    I liked the fried ball of fish cake with gobo because it was not as sweet.
    But both are yummy.

Leave a Reply

